COMMONLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
 
Refer to CORTA Rules & Regulations 
 
1.	If I have to forfeit a point, where must I forfeit? 
If you know in advance of the match that you will be short players, you must forfeit from the bottom up (#3 doubles or #2 singles).  If you do not know in advance and your players are not present when line-ups are exchanged you need to decide whether you will change your line-up to reflect them in the #3 doubles or #2 singles position. Teams defaulting a match, other than from the lowest position, will have one individual point deducted from the final standings for each position forfeited.

2.	What is the default time if someone is late to a match? 
	15 minutes after the scheduled time of the match, if a court is available. 

3.	Can I take games for a player(s) being late? 
	NO. The match is a defaulted when a player is 15 minutes late. 
 
4.	What do I do if my opponent wants to keep rescheduling the rainout match? 
Once the rained out match has been rescheduled, the day and time stand.  The teams are expected to play that position at that time with any eligible player(s).  If a team cannot play the position on the agreed rescheduled date, they forfeit that individual match.  Both captains should contact the Local League Coordinator with the agreed upon date and time to prevent problems.   

5. 	Can we make up matches beyond the deadline day if both teams cannot play 	within the time period allotted?         
	NO, team captains and players do not have the authority to allow this.  

6.	Can we call the match off without showing up?
Yes, if it is obviously raining and play has been cancelled by the facility manager, the match may be rescheduled via a phone call. 

7.	If a point is forfeited to my opponent early, does a rainout allow me to play the point in a rescheduled match?                                        
	Yes.  Forfeits given prior to the actual line up being exchanged are considered a courtesy and 	are not binding.

8.  	How long do you have to “warm-up” before the match?
	You are entitled to a 10-minute warm-up, including serves.

9.	If a team has exchanged the line-up and started warming up, and "Mother 	Nature" decides that the match cannot be played and will have to be rescheduled, do you have to keep the same line-up or can you change your line-up?
	Unrestricted substitutions from the team roster may be made in any individual matches that 	have not begun.  This includes moving a player from one position to another.  Points awarded for forfeits during the original written line-up exchange will stand.  Forfeits offered 	verbally prior to the original written line-up exchange are nullified when the match is rescheduled due to inclement weather.

10.	What happens when CORTA discovers a makeup match has not been scheduled and/or played by the make up deadline? 
	NO extension is given and no point is awarded to either team.  It is recorded as a double default.  

11.	Is a player allowed to be coached if the coaching is given by signals in a discreet way?
No.  Coaching is not allowed at any time.  A player may not use electronic devices such as cell phones or digital messaging systems at any time during a match.

12.	What do I do if I have a question? 
Consult your rules & regulations. Refer to documents provided in the captain’s packet.  Contact your Local League Coordinator.
General Tennis Rules you should know
Refer to Friend at Court or USTA Rules of Tennis:
 
1.  	Can anyone on the court call a let for a ball on the court? 
	Yes on both sides of your court.  You may not call lets on adjoining courts even if your     
	ball rolls onto another court. Exception:  You may not call a let if the ball falls out of your 
	own or your partner's pocket.

2.  	What if an injury occurs during a match? 
	A medical timeout shall begin when a player states the need for one.  A maximum of three 
	minutes is allowed for a medical timeout.  His/her opponent(s) may begin timing the three 
	minutes after which play must resume immediately or the match must be retired.  A player 
	may not take more than one medical timeout for the same condition.  

3.	What if the net looks too high?  How high should the net be?
If no one has a tape measure, the court is deemed playable.  The correct height is 36 inches.

[bookmark: OLE_LINK1]4.	How much time is allowed between points?
When practical this time should not exceed 20 seconds.  This limit does not apply if a player has to chase a stray ball.

5.   	What happens when the server is interrupted during delivery of the second service?
The server is entitled to two serves.

6.   	If you are serving a first serve and go through the motion of hitting the ball, but you "whiff it" (miss it 
	by swinging your racquet), does that count as a serve? Would your next serve be your second serve?  
Yes, this would count as a serve.  The service is a fault if the server misses the ball when trying to hit it.

7.   	The server shall not serve until the receiver is ready. True or False?
True.  The receiver is not ready until the receiver is in the ready position and has a second or two to make eye contact with the server.

8.	How much time is allowed between games?
When the players change ends at the end of a game, a maximum of ninety (90) seconds are allowed.  However, after the first game of each set and during a tie-break game, play shall be continuous and the players shall change ends without a rest.
 
9.   	How much time is allowed between sets?
At the end of each set there shall be a set break of a maximum of one hundred and twenty (120) seconds.

10.	Is the server required to call the score at the beginning of each game and the point scores as the 
	games are played?
	Yes.

11.	What happens when there is a dispute in the score in a game?  
When there is a dispute in the score the players involved in the match are to discuss each point in the game that has been played and play from a score mutually agreeable to all players.

12.	Who wins the point if a player hits a ball that hits an object attached to the net or post (such as the scoring device) and then lands in the proper court? 
	The player who hit the ball loses the point because it hit a permanent fixture before landing in the court.  If the ball in play touches a permanent fixture after it has hit the correct court, the player who hit the ball wins the point (for example, the fence surrounding the courts).




13.	A player serves out of turn and this is not discovered until his service game is finished.  How should this be handled?
If a player serves out of turn during a standard game, the player who was originally due to serve shall serve as soon as the error is discovered.  However, if a game is completed before the error is discovered the order of service shall remain as altered.


NOTE:  The general guiding philosophy regarding any mistakes made by players in failing to change ends, serving from wrong ends, serving to the wrong court, receiving from the wrong court, etc., is this:  Any such error shall be rectified as soon as discovered but not while the ball is in play, and any points completed under the erroneous condition shall be counted.

There are exceptions to the “rectify immediately” requirement. 
One is in the case of a doubles match where the players of one team happened to reverse their left court/right court receiving lineup in the middle of a set, and the switch is discovered in the middle of a game.  In this case the players finish that game in the “new” positions but resume their original lineup in all receiving games thereafter in that set.

For more information regarding the correction of errors during a match please reference Friend of Court, Rules of Tennis pg. 13-14.



